Twitter has reversed one of many adjustments it made to deal with bullying on the platform, simply two hours after rolling it out.
The social community mentioned it will now not notify members who had been added to lists by different customers.
Nevertheless it was hit with a variety of complaints from customers, saying the change solely buried abuse and restricted an in any other case helpful function.
Twitter described the change as a “mis-step”.
The social community lets members compile lists of individuals they comply with, akin to “buddies I’ve met”, “celebrities” or “video avid gamers”.
Members are notified when they’re added to a listing, so some folks abuse the function by including members to mean-spirited lists.
On Monday, Twitter’s security staff tweeted that members would now not be notified if added to a listing.
However customers identified that the change merely buried abuse, and made it more durable for members to know if they’d been added to an abusive checklist.
“Important for folks to know if they have been added to a listing supposed for targets. That is blinding the weak,” tweeted SwiftOnSecurity.
“The right method is to permit folks to take away themselves from lists or do it upon blocking the proprietor.”
Twitter reversed the choice two hours later, with Ed Ho, the corporate’s vice chairman of engineering tweeting: “Reconsidered and reversing.”
The social community has been closely criticised for the quantity of harassment on its platform.
On 7 February it introduced a raft of adjustments to deal with abuse, together with hiding tweets judged to be “low high quality”.